Riley Chattin

“Our Father”

Text: “Pray then in this way: Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And do not bring us to the time of trial, but rescue us from the evil one. — Matthew 6:9–13

Excerpt: “My father died a little over two years before I began to transition genders. This left me without a male figure in my life to turn toward. I craved a male figure to connect with, to be a guide through uncertain times of life. When those I tried to turn to learned I was a transgender man, none was available. Then I turned toward God, finding My Father within the Lord’s Prayer.”

Riley Chattin is a Spiritual Director in Roanoke, Virginia. He is a self professed seeker of truth in Christianity. It was in gender transition that he experienced the undeniable connect to God that he believes we all share.

Purchase Rainbow in the Word here.

Leave a comment